Ridderbos: Paul: An Outline of His Theology

I read most of this book about 15 years ago when I was in seminary. I remember thinking it was a difficult book. It’s long for one thing and in it Ridderbos interacts with all kinds of technical scholarship.

I was thinking about Ridderbos this morning as I reflected on last Sunday’s sermon at Orangewood. My pastor began an Advent series from Galatians 4:4 – 7. I also listened to a sermon on Galatians 4: 1- 11 by John Piper. And then today I started listening to a series on Galatians from Thomas Schreiner, Part 1 of 6 here.

Anyway, the phrase “when the fullness of time had come” reminded me of the little book by Ridderbos When the Time Had Fully Come. One of the things Ridderbos does in that little book is lay out the “now and not-yet” redemptive/historical framework that he argues guides Paul’s theology and preaching.

William L. Lane has a very helpful review article of the Ridderbos book from a 1979 JETS.

Also at the bookstore today I skimmed through the table of contents for the new G.K. Beale book New Testament Biblical Theology. I’m tempted to dig into that. It’s only 1000 pages!!

 

 

 

One Response

  1. FYI, this and 8 other of Herman Ridderbos’ volumes are available for pre-order from Logos Bible Software. http://www.logos.com/product/21592/herman-ridderbos-collection

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

